Skip to main content

Charleston Business

SCEDA Announces 2019-20 President And Board Of Directors

May 17, 2019 11:24AM ● By Kathleen Maris

The South Carolina Economic Developers’ Association (SCEDA) announced its 2019-20 officers and board of directors during the organization’s annual conference in Myrtle Beach.  SCEDA and its 800+ members have been the ‘Voice of Economic Development’ in the Palmetto State for more than 50 years.

Andrena Powell-Baker, SCCED, senior manager of community relations and Development at Lockhart Power Company, will serve as the 2019-2020 SCEDA president.

“I’m incredibly honored and eager to serve as SCEDA’s president for the 2019-2020 term,” said Powell-Baker. “With SCEDA’s membership continuing to grow year to year, our organization is poised to remain a leading voice of economic development in South Carolina, as well as a leader in the region. With a membership base that exceeds 800 industry professionals, the diversity of perspectives is invaluable in continuing to drive legislative, community and economic development action around the Palmetto State.”

Serving alongside Powell-Baker are:

2019-20 Board of Directors:

President – Andrena Powell-Baker, SCCED**, Lockhart Power

Vice President – Richard Blackwell, SCCED**, Agracel, Inc.

Treasurer – Marty Baltzegar, PE, LEED AP, S&ME Engineering, Inc.

Secretary – Sandy Steele, SCCED**, SouthernCarolina Regional Alliance

Past President – Mark Warner, SCCED**, Davis & Floyd

Director, Rich Fletcher, South Carolina I-77 Alliance

Director, Rick Farmer, SCCED**, Newberry County Economic Development

Director, Michael Kozlarek, SCCED**, Kozlarek Law, LLC

Newly Elected Incoming Directors 2018-2019:

Director, Tavia C.M. Gaddy, SCCED** Greenville Area Development Corporation

Director, Karen Calhoun, McMillan Pazdan Smith, LLC

Director, John Truluck, SCCED**, Dorchester County Economic Development

Ex-Officio Members:

Bobby Hitt, Secretary, S.C. Department of Commerce

            Designee: Nelson Lindsay, SCCED**, S.C. Department of Commerce

Dr. Tim Hardee, President, S.C. Technical College System

            Designee: Susan Pretrulak, S.C. Technical College System

Jim Newsome, CEO, S.C. State Ports Authority

            Designee: Micah Mallace, S.C. State Ports Authority