Skip to main content

Charleston Business

Charleston Metro Chamber Announces 2018 Honors Winners

Oct 11, 2018 09:42AM ● By Kathleen Maris
The Charleston Metro Chamber's annual Honors awards celebrate the achievements of local organizations and leaders with an exemplary commitment to the region's economic development and quality of life. The Chamber will gather on November 8 at the Gibbes Museum of Art for Member-Bration to celebrate the winners in seven award categories. 

2018 Honors Award Winners:

The Trailblazer Award - Pure Insurance
The Beacon Award - Charleston Gaillard Center
The Pillar Award - South Carolina Ports Authority
The Rockstar Award - The Beach Company
The Milestone Award - HLA Inc.
The One To Watch Award - Bobby Teachey II, M.P.M, LEED GABrownstone Construction Group

The Trailblazer Award, presented to Pure Insurance, recognizes an organization that has created a cutting-edge product or service.

The Beacon Award, presented to the Charleston Gaillard Center, is given to a project or structure that elevates aesthetics and improves quality of life for the region.

The Pillar Award recognizes an organization known for long-standing excellence, and this year, it is being presented to South Carolina Ports Authority, which has a 76-year history of connecting the region to the world.

The Rockstar Award recognizes an organization that has experienced a significant achievement resulting in a positive impact on the region. The 2018 honoree is The Beach Company.

HLA Inc. is being recognized as the 2018 Milestone recipient, an award given to a small business that illustrates excellence in entrepreneurship, employee relations, diversity and community contribution.

The 2018 One to Watch is presented to a dynamic, high-energy, detail-oriented and self-motivated professional. The 2018 honoree, Bobby Teachey, II, is a construction project manager for Brownstone Construction Group. Teachey is a young professional with outstanding professional success in the business arena demonstrating impeccable leadership qualities in the community.

The highly-acclaimed Joseph P. Riley Leadership Award will be announced at a later date. This award celebrates an outstanding community volunteer who is doing extraordinary work to strengthen the community and has demonstrated a lifetime of leadership. Previous winners include Perry Keith Waring (2017), W. Brian Moody (2016) and Thompson E. Penney (2015).