Skip to main content

Charleston Business

SC Economic Development Program Graduates Announced

Nov 16, 2017 02:27PM ● By Kathleen Maris

The S.C. Department of Commerce (S.C. Commerce) and S.C. Economic Developers' Association (SCEDA) announced that approximately 45 state and community leaders have graduated from two statewide economic development training programs. Five individuals completed the S.C. Economic Developers' Advanced Symposium (Advanced Symposium), while more than 40 graduated from the S.C. Economic Development Institute (Institute).  

A collaborative effort between S.C. Commerce and SCEDA, these two programs are designed to arm participants with development approaches for implementation in local communities. Each program features a highly-interactive curriculum, allowing participants to obtain greater hands-on economic development learning experience.  

Now in its 27th year, the Institute consists of quarterly, two-day sessions for which participants traveled to various locations throughout the state. In addition to the final session, which took place in Greer, sessions were also held in North Charleston, Florence, and Greenwood. During the sessions, attendees gained insight into issues relating to leadership and communication skills, community development, business and industrial development, and product development.

The Advanced Symposium, which has now graduated its 11th class, concluded on August 5. Upon completing the Advanced Symposium, participants receive the S.C. Certified Economic Developer (SCCED) certification.

More information on both of these training programs can be obtained by visiting or contacting SCEDA at (803) 929-0305.

2017 South Carolina Advanced Symposium graduates, listed alphabetically by last name:

H. Mikell Anderson

Southern Carolina Alliance

Darrell Booker

Southern Carolina Alliance

Jennifer Druce

S.C. Department of Commerce

Stephen Taylor

Abbeville County 

Amy Thomson 

S.C. Department of Commerce

2017 South Carolina Economic Development Institute graduates, listed alphabetically by last name:

Andre Anderson

Lower Savannah Council of Government 

Sergio Aparicio

City of Columbia 

Crystal Barnes

McCormick County Government 

Holland Belue

Cherokee County 

Danielle Besser

Upstate S.C. Alliance 

Nikki Brown

S.C. Department of Commerce

Jon Camie

Laurens County

Jeremy Cauthen

S.C. Department of Commerce

Mike Cool

Santee Cooper

Julian Davis

Oconee County Council 

Robert Davis 

S.C. Department of Commerce

Tracy Dozier

Economic Development Consultant 

Sidney Evering II

Parke Poe Adams & Bernstein LLP

Michelle Fehr

S.C. Technical College System

Tammy Greene

S.C. Department of Commerce

David Harmon

York County Government

Katherin Hendricks

Town of Mount Pleasant 

Marc Jordan

North Myrtle Beach Chamber of Commerce Convention & Visitors Bureau 

Marsha Jordan

Professional Help Computer Services, Inc. 

Courtney Kain

Horry County Government 

Robert Kilgo

Darlington County Council 

Liam Kyle

City of Rock Hill

Laura Little

City of Rock Hill 

Brie Logue

City of Columbia 

Jack Marchette

Darlington County Economic Development Partnership 

William McCall 

Santee Cooper 

Eric Melaro

S.C. Rural Infrastructure Authority 

Tommy Paradise

County of Edgefield 

Amanda Richardson

Apprenticeship Carolina 

Neil Robinson

Fairfield County Council 

Steve Ruark

Piedmont Municipal Power Agency 

David Sinclair

Union County Council 

David Smith

Cherokee County Development Board 

Monica Spells

Beaufort County Government

John Stankus

City of Laurens 

Scott Tanner

City of Manning 

Jason Taylor

Fairfield County 

Jerre Threatt

City of Clinton

Wanda Vincent


Julius Weathers

Fairfield County 

Graduates not pictured were Blake Stone of the City of Abbeville and Tony Vincent of the Berkeley Electric Cooperative. Photos of Institute graduates are courtesy of Sergio Aparicio with the City of Columbia.